Driver Ed Safety Logo

Driver Education - Indiana BMV

Click on the link to go to the webpage of the Indiana BMV

Requirements for obtaining the driver education learner's permit - Effective December 25, 2014
  • Students must be 15 years to enroll into a driver education course.
  • Students must show Certificate of Driver Education (Form CDE). This document will be emailed after successful enrollment
  • Students must show student’s original birth certificate and social security card. Parent must show valid ID, original birth certificate or passport, 2 bills for proof of residency. Click link above to navigate to complete list of requirements.
Road Test Waiver

Driver Education grades are based on pass/fail. Students must PASS with 80% or better in both the classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction to successfully complete the course.

Two weeks after completion of driver education or after your 16th birthday, you may call our office to schedule a road test with one of our instructors. There is a fee of $30 for the road test.

The CIESC Road Test is not available if enrolled in online class only, traditional class only or in-car instruction only.

Probationary Licensing - New law effective July 1, 2015
  • Defined as "a license issued to an individual less than eighteen (18) years of age."
  • Students that have met the following requirements may apply for their probationary license at 16 years and 90 days:
  • successfully pass driver education program (both class and in-car instruction)
  • held permit for 180 days
  • successfully complete final road skills test (with CIESC or BMV)
  • completed a 50-hour log
All drivers up to age 21 must adhere to the 180 day passenger and night-time restrictions
  • No passengers except sibling, child or spouse.
  • Front seat passenger must be 25 years or older with valid license.
  • No driving between 10pm and 5am
  • No cell phone use while operating vehicle
All drivers that have not participated in a driver education program may apply for their probationary license at at 16 years and 270 days.


PrintEmail